Train’s Eye View

October 1, 2011

In-between view, Hartford

I recently traveled to Philadelphia by train, and was reminded of what a unique view one gets of the world from the tracks. There are ramshackle rear porches, long-forgotten business signs from an age when the facade facing the tracks mattered, and patches of wilderness just out of sight of city and sprawl. Back when I was taking the train to Bridgeport three or more days a week for work, I had the idea to walk stretches of track and take pictures of everything I saw, but I never got around to it (probably because of the demands of a job that required two and a half hours of commuting on most days). The trip to Philly reminded me of this forgotten project, and being as I’m now self-employed and in more control of my time, I vowed to try again. Today was the first attempt, with a five-and-a-half-mile walk from the waterfront in Hartford, along railroad tracks parallel to the river, up into Windsor. I had the good fortune to run into a friend on the way downtown, who was happy to join me, so we got to catch up as we wandered. Here’s some of what we saw:

Well-graffitied structure

Pieces

Pieces

Pieces

Protecting Today's Perishables For Tomorrow

Relaxing with a drink

Power lines crossing the Connecticut

Large red building, with tracks

DO NOT HUMP

Hartford

You Make Yourself Happy

Jawbone

Heron

3 Responses to “Train’s Eye View”

  1. Alice said

    Cool! (Went to summer camp near Windsor, in Poquonock.)

  2. Your mother's ex said

    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Classification_yard
    in case you’re thinking of humping.

    Great pictures!

  3. Damian said

    Whoa! If I see that jawbone again, it’s a goocher.

    It was sitting North of the Dump where the levee ends when I first saw it. Now again on this blog. A third time, and a goocher will have come to pass.

    Great pics, by the way!

Leave a Reply

