Drunken Inspiration (?)

December 6, 2010

Last evening I had the pleasure of attending an intimate gathering at Helder‘s house with a few friends to watch the season finale of The Walking Dead, which is a show about the zombie apocalypse (based on the comic book series of the same name), and is awesome. Our host prepared a drink for us called the Zombie, which was delicious and strong, and didn’t at all remind me of flesh-eating undead people, and I brought along a sixpack of Dead Guy Ale, to keep with the theme of the evening.

We had fun and ate chips and cookies, and after the show concluded, I hung around for another drink and to shoot the shit, which is a nice thing to do with nice people. Then I rode home through the cold night and got home much too late and too drunk for a Sunday.

On the way home, I was listening to my iPod, and the last two songs it played for me (from my driving / bicycling mix of hip hop, funk, soul, and salsa) were “Run” by Ghostfasce Killah and “Santiago de Cuba” by Beny Moré. Apparently, something about this juxtaposition gave me some sort of idea that seemed worthwhile at the time, so before bed I jotted down this note:

Transition from Ghostface’s “Run” to Beny Moré’s “Santiago de Cuba”

Too drunk

Syncretism

Culture

I can’t quite figure out now what I was going for, but maybe you can. Here are the songs:

 

 

One Response to “Drunken Inspiration (?)”

  1. Due to my depleted hearing I was unable to understand the first song. The second I couldn’t understand because Beny Moré speaks one of those foreign languages we are trying so hard (and unsuccessfully) to keep from polluting and diluting out beautiful, pure, semi-official native language.

    All of this is to say, I am no help at all in your quest for a connection between “Too drunk, Syncretism and Culture.”

    But I really liked the second one.

Leave a Reply

