True Crime, Part 2

December 28, 2009

Read Part 1.

"You wanted to see me, Sergeant?"

"Truth be told, I wish I never had to see you again. Twice in one day you let our most wanted suspect get away, and the second time, you end up cuffed to a lightpost in the worst neighborhood in the city? And don't get me started on what he did to your cruiser - when a perp subdues an officer and steals his vehicle, and then has that vehicle professionally made into a convertible, it's a black eye for this whole department!"


"I know I made a mistake, sir."


"You're lucky to be alive! Everybody knows you did a good job when you broke up the Pteranodon gang and somebody downtown has taken a shine to you. But believe me, if you mess up like that again, you'll be riding a desk in the property room for the rest of your career!"


"I'm truly sorry, sir."


"Well, sorry doesn't cover my ass, kid. I need some assurance that you're not going to get yourself in another situation like that. So meet your new partner. Now I want the two of you to get out there and turn this city inside out, and don't come back till you have that creep in cuffs!"


"What?! I work alone!


"Look, kid, I don't like this either. If I hadn't ruffled some feathers downtown, I'd still be working homicides in the East End. Let's just try to make the best of it, OK?"


"Tell you what: I got some cases of my own to work, and I need a cup of coffee. Drop me at the diner on Fifth and Elm, and you can go look for your guy. If anything comes up, you can give me a call - I want to nail that jerk just as much as you do."


"I gotta give the guy credit, though: the convertible looks ridiculous."


"Alright, here's my stop. Good luck, kid."

2 Responses to “True Crime, Part 2”

  1. Seth said

    Hey! That’s my old apartment!

  2. Bill said

    Thanks for part 2.
    I was worried we’d never find out what happened!

Leave a Reply

