Runs Good?

November 13, 2009

Considering that I am a lawyer, I spend a lot of time moving around. I don’t mean that I sit in court twitching (although I have seen lawyers who do), but that I am often, nay, constantly, called upon to go to lots of different places. I currently have active cases in Hartford, Ansonia, Stratford, Bridgeport, Fairfield, Norwalk, and Stamford, and sometimes I am even called upon to go to other places, such as New Haven and Middletown. At home, things don’t slow down much more, because while I don’t spend as much personal time on intercity travel, there is a great deal of intrahousehold running around, what with the cooking, cleaning, nose- and ass-wiping, grocery shopping, laundry-folding, heavy drinking, and other tasks attendant on the rearing of two children. So every now and then, I just have to chill for a minute. Right now is such a moment, since Anna is (she claims) en route from work and the kids are playing peaceably (or, peaceably enough, anyway) in the basement. Sometimes when I chill out, I just do nothing (except drink), which is nice: I like to sit in our little sun room, where our pet rabbit is allowed to run around, and after a little bit, the rabbit comes and sits next to me on the couch and I pet her and feel her very fast heartbeat and feel calm by comparison. Other times, like now, I like to peruse craigslist for things I will never buy. In these perusals, I have found that almost no item capable of movement of any kind is ever billed as donig anything other than “running good.” Putting aside the the verb-adverb confusion, this bothers me because its use is so common as to become meaningless (or at least dubious). Case in point, the lawnmower below from this ad.

I mean, I guess it could be so rusted that it wouldn’t move, but seriously, it’s a push mower. Just sayin’.

2 Responses to “Runs Good?”

  1. Just how heavy is the drinking?

  2. […] Sunday, with my friends Rich and Chris, I took a marvelous little trip by bicycle. As a compulsive craigslist peruser, I learned a couple weeks ago that there was to be a big bicycle swap meet that day in Dudley, […]

Leave a Reply

